Uncategorized

Draining Magic by the Hour

And where now is that glint of evening magic
That I chased beyond midnight
Wondering what would happen here
I thought I saw it flicker beyond the glass city portraits hanging flush against my dark painted walls
But that was hours ago now
When dreams seemed attainable
Where clenched eyes and deep breathes still held promise
Not now,
Now I blink away the hours
Cast too far into today to salvage last night’s sleep
Clawing at my covers trying to regain some of the sand that slipped away
Inevitably I turn to you,
My unwanted companion
Etching my thoughts for the ink to follow
Whispering of another peace,
that never came to fruition

Standard

Leave a Reply

