Uncategorized

I and Them Too

It’s rather cliche to brandish the bottle as fuel for the pen
Many before I sought the liberation of intoxication and triumphed in word
And failed in word and in health
But they, the proponents of dark liquor
And I as them, pour my own dark soul thick
Black on the page
Bleeding truth in the alcohol and dizziness
Dizzying thoughts about the implications of reality
And further the implications of my own taking to vice
The familiar brutality of whisky and whisper of sweetness of wine
All passed deep into my darkness
Engulfing me with the warmth of self or something like it
Until the gavel falls
Consecrating the throbbing of morning light
to shine through darkness of liquor and libations
Hanging in their glass
Exposed again

Standard

Leave a Reply

